Lords Spiritual

26 bishops of the Church of England sit in the House of Lords. Known as the Lords Spiritual, they read prayers at the start of each daily meeting and play a full and active role in the life and work of the Upper House.

The Lords Spiritual are:

Archbishop of Canterbury
The occupants of those five diocesan sees that are permanently represented:

Archbishop of York

Bishop of London

Bishop of Durham

Bishop of Winchester

Plus the 21 longest serving English diocesan bishops (listed here in order of entry to the House):

Bishop of Birmingham

Bishop of Worcester

Bishop of Coventry

Bishop of Oxford

Bishop of St Albans

Bishop of Carlisle

Bishop of Peterborough

Bishop of Portsmouth

Bishop of Rochester

Bishop of Ely

Bishop of Suthwark

Bishop of Lees

Bishop of Salisbury

Bishop of Gloucester

Bishop of Newcastle

Bishop of Lincoln

Bishop of Chichester

Bishop of Bristol

Bishop of Derby

Bishop of Blackburn

Which bishops become Lords Spiritual?

17.06.21 State Opening
Bishops in their formal robes for the State Opening of Parliament, June 2017. Photograph taken by Richard Chapman

The Archbishops of Canterbury and York and the Bishops of London, Durham and Winchester are ex-officio members of the House of Lords.

The remaining 21 places on the Bishops’ Bench are occupied by the longest-serving bishops of English dioceses.  As there are 40 eligible dioceses there are more bishops than there are places for Lords Spiritual, so those bishops awaiting seats come to the House in turn by seniority when a vacancy arises on the Bench.

In addition to the seniority system of entry, under the terms of the Lords Spiritual (Women) Act 2015, until 2025 if any woman is appointed to be a diocesan bishop, she will automatically join the House of Lords when the next vacancy occurs on the Bench (or straight away if it is to one of the five ex-officio sees).

When diocesan bishops retire (compulsory at 70), their membership of the House also ceases. Occasionally some have become life peers, and this is usually the case for former archbishops.

What do they do?

There is always at least one Lord Spiritual in the House of Lords when it is sitting, to read prayers at the start of the day and to participate in the business of the House. The official proceedings  of the House cannot begin until prayers have been read. Attendance in the House to read prayers and attend to the legislative business of that day is determined by the Lords Spiritual on a rota basis, with each bishop being on duty for one or two sitting weeks each year. Bishops also attend the House if they have a committee meeting, or take part on an ad-hoc basis,  when matters of interest and concern to them are before it.

They sit as individual Lords Spiritual (there is no ‘Bishops’ Party’) and as such they have much in common with the independent Crossbenchers and those who are not party-affiliated. As non-aligned members, their activities in the Upper House are not subject to a whip. A Convenor represents the Lords Spiritual to the other parties and groupings in the House, calls and chairs meetings and ensures that the Bench is well resourced and organised. The current Convenor is the Bishop of Birmingham, Rt Revd David Urquhart.

The Lords Spiritual each shadow one or two specific areas of policy on a voluntary basis, which is usually aligned with their expertise, interests or a formal position already held within the Church of England.

Like other members of the Lords, bishops are not elected to parliament. Unlike other members, their diocesan role means they are in touch with geographical areas of the country, which often informs the contributions they make in the House.

Their presence in the Lords is an extension of their general vocation as bishops to preach God’s word and to lead people in prayer. Bishops provide an important independent voice and spiritual insight to the work of the Upper House and, while they make no claims to direct representation, they seek to be a voice for all people of faith, not just Christians

A 2017 House of Lords Library briefing note on the Lords Spiritual can be read here.


Christian religious leaders have had an active role in the legislative affairs of the country since before the formation of the Church of England. Prior to the 11th century feudal landlords and religious leaders were regularly consulted by Saxon kings.

In the 14th century, religious leaders and landed gentry formed the ‘Upper House’ (the Lords) as, respectively, the Lords Spiritual and Lords Temporal. Local representatives formed the ‘Lower House’ (the Commons). Apart from a brief interruption following the English Civil war, religious leaders have played an active role in parliament ever since.

The continuing place of Anglican bishops in the Lords reflects our enduring constitutional arrangement, with an established Church of England and its Supreme Governor as Monarch and Head of State.

The Bishopric of Manchester Act of 1847 limits the number of places for Lords Spiritual to 26.

Bishops awaiting seats

The full list of diocesan bishops of the Church of England not currently in the House of Lords, but who are awaiting seats (in the order that they will enter when a vacancy arises):

  1. The Rt Revd David Walker, Bishop of Manchester
  2. The Rt Revd Peter Hancock, Bishop of Bath & Wells
  3. The Rt Revd Robert Atwell, Bishop of Exeter
  4. The Rt Revd Paul Bayes, Bishop of Liverpool
  5. The Rt Revd Martin Seeley, Bishop of St Edmundsbury & Ipswich
  6. The Rt Revd Andrew Watson, Bishop of Guildford
  7. The Rt Revd Paul Williams, Bishop of Southwell & Nottingham
  8. The Rt Revd Martyn Snow, Bishop of Leicester
  9. The Rt Revd Michael Ipgrave, Bishop of Lichfield
  10. The Rt Revd Pete Wilcox, Bishop of Sheffield
  11. The Rt Revd Philip Mounstephen, Bishop of Truro
  12. The Rt Revd Graham Usher, Bishop of Norwich
  13. The Rt Revd Richard Jackson, Bishop of Hereford
  14. The Bishop of Chester (vacant)
  15. The Bishop of Chelmsford (vacant)

The two dioceses that do not send bishops to the Lords are the Diocese of Europe and the Diocese of Sodor and Man (whose bishop sits in the Manx parliament, the Tynwald).

This page was last updated on 30/06/20 

One thought on “Lords Spiritual”

Thoughts on this blog? Tweet us @ChurchState

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s