Vote: Motion to adjourn Lords debate on EU withdrawal deal

On 10th December 2018 the House of Lords voted on whether to resume the debate on the Government’s EU Withdrawal Agreement straight away, or to wait until after it had heard a repeat of the Prime Minister’s statement to the House of Commons. Seven bishops took part in the vote. The Motion was passed (against the Government) and when the House resumed it was decided not to continue with the debate. 

House of Lords Division Lobby

Baroness Smith of Basildon moved that the House adjourn during pleasure until 5.30pm. The House divided:

Contents: 199 | Not Contents: 163 | Result: Government Defeat

The Archbishop of York and Bishops of Newcastle, St Albans and Southwark voted Content.

The Bishops of Carlisle, Leeds and Winchester voted Not Content.


%d bloggers like this: