Votes: Immigration Bill (trafficking, citizenship)

House of Lords Division Lobby
House of Lords Division Lobby

Bishops took part in two votes in the House of Lords on amendments to the Government’s Immigration Bill at its Report Stage on 7th April 2014. In both cases the amendments passed, meaning the Government was defeated.

The first Division was on an amendment from Baroness Butler-Sloss to appoint guardians to children who may have been victims of human trafficking.

The second Division was on an amendment from Lord Pannick, to take out the provisions in the Bill that would enable the Home Secretary to deprive an individual of citizenship and create a parliamentary committee to consider the merits of creating the power.

The BBC reported on the votes, here.


Division 1:

Baroness Butler-Sloss moved amendment 55A, before clause 64, to insert the new clause Child trafficking guardians for all potential child victims of trafficking in human beings. The House divided:

Contents: 282 | Not Contents: 184 | Result: Government Defeat
The Bishops of Bristol, Chester and St Albans voted Content. No bishop voted Not Content.
 Division 2:
Lord Pannick moved amendment 56, in clause 64, page 51, line 29, to leave out subsections (1) and (2) and insert:


“(1) A committee of members of both Houses of Parliament shall be established to consider and report on whether section 40 of the British Nationality Act 1981 (deprivation of citizenship) should be amended to enable the Secretary of State to deprive a person of their citizenship status if:

(a) the citizenship status results from the person’s naturalisation, and

(b) the Secretary of State is satisfied that the deprivation is conducive to the public good because the person, while having that citizenship status, has conducted him or herself in a manner which is seriously prejudicial to the vital interests of the United Kingdom, any of the Islands, or any British overseas territory,

even if to do so would have the effect of making a person stateless.

(2) The committee shall consist of six members of the House of Lords nominated by the Chairman of Committees, and six members of the House of Commons nominated by the Speaker of the House of Commons, to be appointed on the passing of this Act to serve for the duration of the present Parliament.

(3) Any casual vacancy occurring by reason of the death, resignation or incapacity of a member of the committee shall be filled by the nomination of a member by the Chairman of Committees or the Speaker of the House of Commons, as the case may be.

(4) The quorum of the committee shall be two members of each House and the committee shall be entitled to sit and to transact business whether Parliament be sitting or not, and notwithstanding a vacancy in the membership of the committee.

(5) Subject to the above provisions, the committee may regulate its own procedure.”

The House divided:

Contents: 242 | Not Contents: 180 | Result: Government Defeat
The Bishops of Bristol and St Albans voted Content. No bishop voted Not Content
%d bloggers like this: